Failure in the Pulpit

Because the people will be able to place the Word of God into time and space in their minds and that helps them to put it into practice in their lives.

Behold, God is my helper; the Lord is the upholder of my life. (Psalm 54:4)

I worry about pastors who preach without admitting that God is their helper. I am often fearful when the pastor acts like he has it together. Even greatly humble men seem like they have it together because of the way they preach.

We can’t use the pulpit as self-therapy, but we must use it as a means of grace for ourselves first before the congregation uses it.

I am not in favor of bleeding hearts as we preaching.

I am not in favor of tons of stories about myself while I preach.

But I am in favor of admitting that we don’t have it together. I am in favor of preaching that if it does tell a story about the preacher it is often his sins and mistakes.

Why? Because the people will be able to place the Word of God into time and space in their minds and that helps them to put it into practice in their lives.

So pastors stop telling the people about the really cool thing you said to someone that put them in their place. Stop telling your mic drop moments, and start telling them your oh, crap moments, your I’m sorry moments, and your failure moments.

Because then your life will be a living example of the truth that God is my helper and the upholder of my life.